Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Execute awk output with continuous streaming input Post 302968541 by cjcox on Thursday 10th of March 2016 03:38:16 PM
Old 03-10-2016
Have your awk output commands for the shell and pipe that into sh.

6 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk should output if one input file doesnt have matching key

nawk -F, 'FNR==NR{a= $3 ;next} $2 in a{print $1, 'Person',$2, a}' OFS=, filea fileb Input filea Input fileb output i am getting : (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: pinnacle
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Pass input and output file as parameter to awk script

Hi, i am new to awk. I am using csv2pipe script(shown below) BEGIN { FS=SUBSEP; OFS="|" } { result = setcsv($0, ",") print } # setcsv(str, sep) - parse CSV (MS specification) input # str, the string to be parsed. (Most likely $0.) # sep, the separator between the values. # #... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: bhaskarjha178
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Printing the continuous occurence of pattern using awk ?

Hello all, I have a input file like this. input file --------------- abc ab001 + ab002 zca acb ab006 + ab007 caz cba ab003 + ab004 zca bac ab004 - ab005 zac bca ab002 - ab003 cza cba ab005 + ab006 acz cba ab005 ... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: admax
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

redirect an awk string output to a script input with pipes

Hi, I have a function in a bash script that returns a string after some operations using awk. The following code returns 555 $VARIABLE="EXAMPLE" get_number $VARIABLE this value I'd like to pass it as a second argument of another script with the following usage myscript.sh <param1>... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: rid
7 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Redirect output to the same input file in awk