Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Quiz help!
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Quiz help! Post 302966363 by julianpeters on Thursday 11th of February 2016 06:52:50 AM
Old 02-11-2016
Question Quiz help!

Hello, I'm new to Unix and need help answering these questions if possible, thanks.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
In a shell script, which command could be place at the end of a command line to combine stderr and stdout into the stdout stream for further manipulation?
2>>1&
2>&1
&1>2
None of the above
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
What is the correct syntax to copy the file /home/newton/scripts/logger.ksh to the directory /testing/scripts/
assuming you are currently in neither of these directories?
cp /home/newton/scripts/logger.ksh /testing/scripts
cp /home/scripts/logger.ksh /testing/scripts/logger.ksh
mv /home/newton/scripts/logger.ksh /testing/scripts
mv home/newton/scripts/logger.ksh /testing/scripts
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Run the following UNIX command:
echo "x">a; echo "y">>a; tail -1 a
Choose the correct output from the answers below
1. x
2. y
3. x
y
4. xy
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Run the following UNIX command:
echo "x">a; echo "y">>a; sort -r a
Choose the correct output from the answers below
1. x
2. y
3. x
y
4. xy
Which unix shell command displays the contents of the abc.txt file to standard output interactively (stopping after each page of output)?
abc.txt
cat abc.txt
edit abc.txt
more abc.txt
Which shell command sequence can be used to transfer files to a remote server from the local directory?
1) ftp
2) mv
3) put
4) wget
a1
b1
c1
Which of the following UNIX shell command sequences produces the output "c1" (list all the apply):
a) grep "1" abc.txt
b) grep "c" abc.txt
c) grep "c1" abc.txt