Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting New at scripting awk with variable Post 302962810 by infinity0880 on Friday 18th of December 2015 05:01:07 PM
Old 12-18-2015
Good point, too many hours with no coffee...and Like I said I'm new at writing scripts.

File ex
Code:
1449332076709|video_load_time|5.1.1|SM-N910W8|5.1.1|1193.0|CELLULAR|AUTO_AUTHENTICATED|56.2577877|-118.6077102|0000000000000000000000000000-023X_wap2.mobility.ca|||MediaChannel501|N/A||11608

the last field being the error the 0000000000000000000000000000-023X_wap2.mobility.ca field is an identifier.

Or is there a way that I can write something (not using AWK) that will look in a file from start time to end time. I could send that to a file then compile the data from there. Then I won't need to fix AWK

This way the user can enter
Ex.
Code:
 GetUserImpact.sh  20151205 "20151205 00:11:00" "20151205 23:50:00"

Moderator's Comments:
Mod Comment Please use CODE tags for full-line and multi-line sample input, output, and code segments (not ICODE tags) and use ICODE tags (not double quotes) for shorter input and output samples.

Last edited by Don Cragun; 12-18-2015 at 06:19 PM.. Reason: Change ICODE tags to CODE tags and add CODE tags.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

scripting/awk help : awk sum output is not comming in regular format. Pls advise.

Hi Experts, I am adding a column of numbers with awk , however not getting correct output: # awk '{sum+=$1} END {print sum}' datafile 2.15291e+06 How can I getthe output like : 2152910 Thank you.. # awk '{sum+=$1} END {print sum}' datafile 2.15079e+06 (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: rveri
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bash scripting, question about a variable