Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Big pattern file matching within another pattern file in awk or shell Post 302960839 by RudiC on Friday 20th of November 2015 04:55:41 AM
Old 11-20-2015
Some comments on top of what Don Cragun said:
awk -F "," keys.txt '{print $1}' can't possibly work (reverse order of arguments) and is superfluous - you could simply read IFS="," key_ REST; ... < keys.txt
grep -v ",-1$" is pointless as (at least in the samples given) there's no line ending in "-1"
And, for each line in keys.txt times each matching line in file1.txt, you run 10 processes to extract a few fields - no surprise that is slow.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Pattern matching for file

Hi All, I'm new to perl, My requirement is to check if particular file exists. e.g. filename.txt, filename1.txt, filename2.txt etc I tried the below code:- my $var1 = "filename.txt" if ( -e ($var1 = ~ /file\w/)) { print "File found \n"; } else { print "File not found \n"; } ... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: doitnow
0 Replies

2. Programming

File Pattern Matching C++

Hi, I have large files with fixed length fields or fields seperated by delimeter. I would like to do validation on some or all fields to check for numeric or date or characters etc.. I would like to write this in C++. Please let me know if any one have any ideas on this. Thanks for all... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rameshmelam
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

PERL pattern matching in a file

Hi Gurus, I have a file like below.. I have to match each with predefined pattern. If matches then have to write the entire record to a separate file. If not make the value as NULL and write the entire record into another file. | is the delimiter ravi123|2344|M R123Vi|2345|F... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: pvksandeep
8 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with matching pattern inside a file