Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: vnc xstartup File
Operating Systems Linux Ubuntu vnc xstartup File Post 302960360 by silencer230 on Saturday 14th of November 2015 09:20:21 AM
Old 11-14-2015
vnc xstartup File

Hello everyone I'm new to linux scripting, but I do have experience with Java programming and batch file scripting in Windows. I'm trying to setup the xstartup file for a machine that I have on my network that is running Lubuntu. On Ubuntu's VNC HowTo page they have a script that will configure a VNC session for Gnome and KDE, but they don't have one for Lubuntu's LXDE desktop envirment. I would write the script myself, but I don't understand what this script is doing.

# Try a GNOME session, or fall back to KDE
if [ "GNOME" = "$MODE" ]
then
if which gnome-session >/dev/null
then
gnome-session --session=ubuntu-2d &
else
MODE="KDE"
fi
fi

I have three questions?

1. Is the gnome-session a file or a service?

2. What is this script doing when it's telling the gnome session to empty itself into the null device?

3. What does the "&" symbol mean in Linux scripting?

Last edited by silencer230; 11-14-2015 at 10:25 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

VNC via Rs232

Hi ! Is there somebody who is able to connect a VNC session via serial cable ? There is a hint on the VNC homepage that it is possible to configure that. But how? thanks joerg (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: joerg
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Vnc

Anyone know of a site where I can download a copy (non-evaluation copy and preferably free. ;) nods to Neo's post in UNIX Operating System thread) of VNC for RedHat 8? Thanks in advance. (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: google
7 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Xstartup file failure - HELP !!