Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Network Issue on virtual server Post 302958693 by rsheikh01 on Sunday 25th of October 2015 01:51:58 PM
Old 10-25-2015
Thank you for your time & interest in helping me.

VMwareŽ Player
7.1.2 build-2780323 (non commercial use)
*I wanted to get the 'normal' ESX/hypervisor* install but since I am a newbie re. virtual setup and its requirements I opted to start with this player.
*Virtual host is on Windows 7 Professional, 64-bit 6.1.7601, Service Pack 1 with 49 GB and 8 processors

To be honest, I have not done any network adapter setting or configuration I accepted default. BTW, when i was setting this virtual host, i used static IP address (I am able to log in to it and of course use it but not been able to join it to our DC server. The DC server could ping this virtual host but virtual host could not but for now I could live with it, the issue is the virtual guest nodes as now i have to give direct admin access to the virtual host and ask user to start the virtual guest node...ideally I would just like to give direct access to virtual guest and not have to give admin access....sorry got long winded whining, LOL).

One thing i noticed the guest node is using DHCP by default but its gateway using an IP that is not what our DC or non static IP uses. But now I am not sure where to prescribe correct gateway when DHCP is used since there is no place I know where to correct it.

Sucks to be a newbie.Smilie

You have my sincere thanks.

6 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Red Hat

SSH broke and network traffic / talking issue between hosts and server

Ok Time warner cable / voip modem feeding Cisco PIX 501 Wan port from PIX 501 LAN port to WAN port on Linksys wrt54GL wireless router. so -->Modem-->PIX 501-->WRT54GL-->Linux Server, wireless desktop, wireless laptop (2), Wireless MAC Pro, Wireless Apple TV, Wireless printer. my... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: tedeansiii
0 Replies