Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Arithmetic on a Float in bash Post 302958599 by Scrutinizer on Friday 23rd of October 2015 03:23:59 PM
Old 10-23-2015
Not sure what you mean. Something like this maybe?
Code:
answer=$(((${number%.*}-20)/10*10))

or
Code:
answer=$(((${number%.*}/10-2)*10))

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

math.h: float ceilf(float x)

Good morning, I'm testing the use of ceilf: /*Filename: str.c*/ #include <stdio.h> #include <math.h> int main (void) { float ceilf(float x); int dev=3, result=0; float tmp = 3.444f; printf("Result: %f\n",ceilf(tmp)); return 0; } (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jonas.gabriel
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

float input

how to input float data type in bash shell programming in linux? I am new to it so unaware to use the commands plz help me out. thank you. (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: purva
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help is manipulating a file with some arithmetic operations using bash script

Friends, I have a file with contents like: interface Serial0/4/0/0/1/1/1/1:0 encapsulation mfr multilink group 101 Now I need to manipulate the file in such a way that to all the numbers less than 163, 63 gets added and to all numbers greater than 163, 63 gets deducted.(The numbers... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: shrijith1
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Arithmetic operations in bash,ksh,sh

Guys, The below expression is valid in which shells (sh,ksh,bash,csh)? VAR1=2 VAR2=$(($VAR1 -2)) Thanks (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rprajendran
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

float to normal

I have a file with 2 columns . One of the line looks like the following. Is it possible to convert every float no in column 2 to integer. input NM_032881 6.03787973608527e-05 output 0.0000603787..... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: quincyjones
2 Replies

6. Shell Programming and Scripting