Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: I/O error Err#5 EIO
Operating Systems Solaris I/O error Err#5 EIO Post 302957005 by Solaris_Begin on Tuesday 6th of October 2015 03:00:49 AM
Old 10-06-2015
Thanks jlliagre,

iostat is indeed showing errors.

Code:
c4t4d0          Soft Errors: 0 Hard Errors: 23526 Transport Errors: 4606
Vendor: SEAGATE  Product: ST373207LSUN72G  Revision: 0354 Serial No: 1030MHGL
Size: 73.40GB <73400057856 bytes>
Media Error: 19634 Device Not Ready: 0 No Device: 3892 Recoverable: 0
Illegal Request: 0 Predictive Failure Analysis: 1597

I have no experience in using fsck.
Im planning to run fsck like this.
Code:
1) umount the disk
2) run fsck as 
     fsck /dev/dsk/c4t4d0s0

Hopefully fsck will give me some interactive fixes.
Do you see any issues in running fsck like this and are these hard errors fixable by fsck?

Thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

tar write err

This isn't causing me a problem, but it is puzzling (& slightly worrying) me. If I use tar to copy to a tape & the tape is write protected, I only get the message 'tar: tape write err' if there are a few files to copy. eg. # tar cvf /dev/rStp4 /usr/data will produce the messages ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Kevin Pryke
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Err while using find command

hi frnds, I have written a script as follows. ssh username@servername "find $1 -type f -name $2 -mtime +1 -exec rm '{}' \;" when i excute tis script i get error FIND: Parameter format not correct parameter 2 is the file name .. . Thx in advance (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: vikramsnest
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

sccs get -ek command is throwing err