Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Find a file and if exists , execute a different file Post 302948773 by thinkingeye on Thursday 2nd of July 2015 10:55:08 AM
Old 07-02-2015
Find a file and if exists , execute a different file

Good Morning All,
I'm a novice and please excuse me if i did miss some of the forum rules.
What my intention is, i have a file (services) residing @ /u01/Oracle/services.
I know i can use the find command to find the "service" file. I get this file from a windows box and there is no certain time when it comes. I can use a crontab to schedule a script once its in place.
What am looking for is a suggestion to create a shell script, that lookks for the "services" file , if it exist go to a different location /u01/middleware/stop.sh and execute the stop.sh file and then delete the "services" file.
Any suggestions please?
Thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

unix script to check whether particular file exists and to find its size

I want to find the size of particular file exists in a particular directory and i wnt to zip it. In the below mentioned code it should check the MQ.log in the particular directory.Please correct my code so that it will check for particular MQ.log but i could not able to check whether the... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: Balachandar
9 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need to write a script in UNIX to find a file if another file exists

So I have a lot of Java applications on my servers all having their own folder from the applications subdirectory. Now, I need to do the following. Search all the applications subdirectories for message.jar. If the message.jar file exists, I need to search the application directory for... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mmdawg
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

find, if exists then append for file with same name