Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Remove a character and assign result to a variable Post 302947606 by KathyB148 on Friday 19th of June 2015 12:56:01 PM
Old 06-19-2015
Remove a character and assign result to a variable

I am reading lines from a file that contain a number sign (#) before a three or four digit number:

Code:

I can remove the '#' and get just the number. However, I then want to assign that number to a variable and use it as part of a path further on in my program:

Code:
/mydir/10/1043 for example

print -n {$second#?} gives me the 1043 but I have been unsuccessful assigning this result to a variable - I tried company = {$second#?} but company has no value.

I'm new to this, so any help would be appreciated.

Last edited by Don Cragun; 06-19-2015 at 09:25 PM.. Reason: Add CODE AND ICODE tags.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

assign subst|grep|sed command result to a variable

Hi, I'm quite new to scripting and I want to modify following line of an existing script: MYVAR=`subst |grep 'L:\\\:' | sed -e 's/.*\\\//'`; What I have to do is to use the content of a variable instead of the constant expression 'L:\\\:' as the grep string to be matched. Assuming I already... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: snowbiker99
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

assign awk command result to a variable

#!/bin/sh # ## MYSTRING = `awk '/myApp.app/' /Users/$USER/Library/Preferences/loginwindow.plist` if then echo String not found defaults write /Users/$USER/Library/Preferences/loginwindow AutoLaunchedApplicationDictionary -dict-add -string Hide -bool YES -string Path -string... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: dedmakar
9 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

read and assign each character from the string to a variable