Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Builtin alternatives for several commands? Post 302945501 by Michael Stora on Friday 29th of May 2015 07:35:34 PM
Old 05-29-2015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott
Instead of mollycoddling Windows folks into using Unix-like tools, why not just teach them a bit of PowerShell?

Go native, why not?!
Because I would have to learn it first Smilie Hadoop has been next on my list for a while and my organization seems to be moving toward Python for scripting (previously an in-house extended version of VB). I'm an engineer not a programmer. They are end users who can't code at all.

Mike

Last edited by Michael Stora; 05-29-2015 at 08:42 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

ASP alternatives

I have just found out that a project I have developed in ASP (ultradev) needs to be migrated to a unix server and won't be able to support asp. Can anyone point me in the right direction to see what my options are with Unix? I have never worked with or developed for a Unix box before. Also,... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Ricki
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Alternatives for CLOCK_MONOTONIC

Hi, I need to develop timeout functionality in my code, which is not affected by system's time changes.Unfortunately I dont have CLOCK_MONOTONIC support in my OS. Are there any alternatives? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: amitks21
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

The builtin split function in AWK is too slow

I have a text file that contains 4 million lines, each line contains 2 fields(colon as field separator). as shown: 123:444,555,666,777,888,345 233:5444,555,666,777,888,345 623:454,585,664,773,888,345 ...... Here I have to split the second field(can be up to 40,000 fields) by comma into an... (14 Replies)
Discussion started by: kevintse
14 Replies

4. Red Hat

Alternatives for sudo??