Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers What is your favorite terminal? Post 302944828 by wisecracker on Friday 22nd of May 2015 11:09:11 AM
Old 05-22-2015
Hi rbatte1...

I've never had formal training in computer science, all self taught.
I retire in October, this year on my 65th birthday, are you that old? ;oD

However I actually liked the MS-DOS CLI on our ancient IBM XT of the very early 80s.

I especially got to grips with DEBUG.EXE and this is what I weened myself onto 80(88)(86) architecture assembly coding.

Hard going for a beginner to computer coding whose formal profession is an electronics engineer. It was a completely different mindset for me.

I know the MS-DOS prompt is not a UNIX style terminal but it did have its own __shell__ scripting style, much of which I have forgotten now...

However PowerShell is a different animal...

EDIT:

The AMIGA A1200 (New)Shell running 'ADE' the gcc suite and ksh has much the same capability as xterm...

Bazza...

Last edited by wisecracker; 05-22-2015 at 12:23 PM..

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. What is on Your Mind?

What's your favorite Xscreensaver?

Out of the 100s of screensavers in xscreensaver, what is your favorite? I think mine is definitely juggle. I can sit and watch that juggler forever. I haven't looked into the code, but it must be amazingly complex to deal with all that's going on. From the random throwing pattern, to the arm... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: tjlst15
0 Replies

2. What is on Your Mind?

Where Is Your Favorite Continent?

Where is your favorite continent to enjoy life? (14 Replies)
Discussion started by: Neo
14 Replies

3. What is on Your Mind?

Favorite UNIX-like OS for laptop