Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Assign the return value of the SQL to a variable in UNIX Post 302943966 by KrishBalu on Thursday 14th of May 2015 10:49:44 AM
Old 05-14-2015
Assign the return value of the SQL to a variable in UNIX

Hi

I am new to UNIX. I am trying the below and getting the error.

I am trying to assign the variable with the value of the query result. I want this value to use in the next steps.

Created UNIX file (Batch.sh) as below

#!/bin/ksh
sqlplus callidus/callidus4u@attstcal @Batch.sql

Created UNIX file (Batch.sql) as below

batchname = ~sqlplus -s callidus/callidus@attstcal <<EOC
select batchname from cs_table where rownum = 1 order by 1 desc;
EOF!
)
echo $batchname

I am getting the below error

"SP2-0734: unknown command beginning "batchname=" - rest of line ignored.

Can anyone please help.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

return variable from PL/SQL procedure to shell

Hi i'm calling a pl/sql procedure which is returning one variable. i'm trying to assing this value to variable in shell script the code i wrote is ** in shell script** var= 'sqlplus user/pass @ret.sql' echo $var ** and variable dum_var number exec rt_test(:DUM_VAR); exit; in... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ap_gore79
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to assign sql output data to shell script variable

Hi Guys ! I am new to unix and want to find out how we can make sql statement data to shell script variable? Any help/suggestion is greatly appreciated -Chandra (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: kattics
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

To get value from oracle & assign it in UNIX variable