Sponsored Content
Top Forums Programming FORTRAN: Loop over variable file names Post 302942152 by saleheen on Friday 24th of April 2015 06:31:43 PM
Old 04-24-2015
FORTRAN: Loop over variable file names

Hi guys

I'm a beginner in fortran. So excuse me for my naivety, let me briefly describe what I was trying to do. I have let's say 2 files named reac-1 and reac-2. After opening these files I've to do some calculations, close these files and open the same files again in a loop. So my faulty code looks like this:
Code:
do j= 1,29  !temp loop

write(*,*)"This is for temperature: ",T(j)

do i=1,r	! file loop
  write(filename,100)i
  100 format('reac-',I1)											

write(*,*)"This is for reac-",i

//open file, do something, close file.....//	

end do	! end file loop

//do something...//

end do  ! end temp loop

I get a run time error when it enters temperature loop the 2nd time, it stops after printing "This is for reac-1". My guess is it already had reac-1 & reac-2 in 'filename' variable, so it can't write reac-1 again and that's why it crashes.

Could you guys shed some light on it where I'm going wrong here and how can I overcome it?

Thanks a lot!

Saleheen

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Variable assignment for file names.

I am trying to process error files in selected directories. I can count the files that are there and export the contents to a file for either emailing or printing. The next step is to move the files to a processed directory with the name changed to .fixed as the last extension. for file in... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jagannatha
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

File Names in a Variable in a loop