Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Comparison between two files through UNIX script Post 302941831 by Don Cragun on Tuesday 21st of April 2015 04:08:39 PM
Old 04-21-2015
And, please show us what you have tried so far to solve this problem.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unix comparison

I am very new to Unix. What are the similiarities and differences between ScoUnix and AIX5 if any? Where might i find the information? Which is better? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: NewGuy100
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Comparison of 2 files in UNIX

Hi, There are two files in UNIX system with some lines are exactly the same, some lines are not. I want to compare these two files.The 2 files (both the files have data in Column format )should be compared row wise and any difference in data for a particular row should lead to storage of data of... (32 Replies)
Discussion started by: Dana Evans
32 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

comparison of 2 files

Kindly help on follows. I have 2 files. One file contains only one column of mobile numbers. And total records in a file 12 million. Second file contains 2 columns mobile numbers and balance. and total records 30 million. I want to find out balance of each data in file 1 corresponding to file 2.... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kamal_418
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Comparison of two files (sh)

Hi, I have a problem with comparison of two files file1 20100101 20090101 20080101 20071001 20121229 file2 19990112 12 456 7 20011131 19 20100101 2 567 1 987 17890709 123 555 and, sh script needs to compare of these two files and give out to me result: 20100101 2 567 1 987 it... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: shizik
5 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

comparison of 2 files using unix or awk