Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Using awk to parse multiple conditions Post 302938459 by cmccabe on Monday 16th of March 2015 03:27:07 PM
Old 03-16-2015
I tried the below code on the file attached.

Code:
 echo 'del' | awk 'NR==2 {split($2,a,"[_.del]");b=substr(a[4],1,length(a[4]-1));print a[2]+0,b,b,substr(a[4],length(a[4])),a[-]}' OFS="\t" del_position.txt >del_parse.txt

awk: cmd. line:1: NR==2 {split($2,a,"[_.del]");b=substr(a[4],1,length(a[4]-1));print a[2]+0,b,b,substr(a[4],length(a[4])),a[-]}
awk: cmd. line:1:                                                                                                            ^ syntax error
awk: cmd. line:1: error: invalid subscript expression

Desired Output:
13 20763686 20763686 C -

Thank you Smilie.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help regarding multiple conditions

Hi All, I am new to shell scripting. Can any one say what is wrong in this if statement, that uses multiple conditions if then *************** else if ( -z $pcs && "$night_time_calc" > "$night_time" ) then ******************************** ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ssenthilkumar
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

specifying multiple conditions in AWK

how can i specify more than 1 consition in the following AWK statament?? i.e. if $2 is ABCD and $3 is MNOP and $4 is KLPM similarly for OR #!/bin/ksh awk -F '' ' $2 == "ABCD" { print $2, $3;}' file.xml (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: skyineyes
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

If + multiple conditions

Hello Unix-Forums! It has been a long time since my last post, but finally I've got a new question: I know in case you can use multiple patterns by case $var in a|b|c|ab) and so on. But how would I place an OR between if ] then ... if ] then ... I want to execute the "..." if... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: intelinside
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting