Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Backups and restores in RHEL
Operating Systems Linux Red Hat Backups and restores in RHEL Post 302937684 by aaron8667 on Saturday 7th of March 2015 06:53:24 PM
Old 03-07-2015
Backups and restores in RHEL

Hi,

I am new to RHEL. and started exploring/learning RHEL from last few months.

I understood LVM and other system admin concepts. But I did not get a chance to explore backup/restore options in RHEL.

Can you please explain the procedure on how backups/restores work in linux environment?
  1. Once we install RHEL, how we usually take OS backups (how often) in organization (small/big) and how we restore when needed.

2. As a LINUX sys admin, is it our responsibility to backup/restore the USER/App/Databse information on RHEL server ? If yes, how we are running backups/restore ?
    I am already working on AIX, just want to compare to see if anything similar tools in LINUX.

3. We've mksysb (OS backup utility) in AIX to capture/restore rootvg/root fs. Is there any similar command in RHEL ?
Please explain.

Thank you

Last edited by rbatte1; 03-09-2015 at 10:06 AM.. Reason: Added LIST=1 tags and corrected spelling/case

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Backups.

Hello everyone my ? is about backups. I'am running SCO OS 505 and currently backing up the hole HD. Well the back up is taking too long and this is becoming a problem for the users since we are a 24-7 bussines, I whant stop backing up every thing on the HD. What are the most important files and... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: kikkin
1 Replies

2. UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers

Backups too CD

I've been handed the task of backing up some of our system files on a Solaris box. No probs. Zipped the logs that needed backing up but my superiors do not want it on tape, they want it spanned on CD's. The CD-Writer is available on a MS box. FTP'd the zipped logs across too the MS Machine but now... (1 Reply)