Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Run a job between times else run later Post 302936858 by twinion on Saturday 28th of February 2015 03:08:13 PM
Old 02-28-2015
Hi, thanks for the reply. The system I use is a sun Solaris. The break part was just away of sitting there and waiting for a job to finish, this starts the same time the other job does (8pm) once the other job finishes It creates the trigger file. I get this to wait for it and kick off. I'm doing this the automate several tasks. Someone tried to do it via the cron and it went horribly wrong. You're right about the test, could increase it for sure. I can't put a big delay on it because the job I wait for can take a short time or a long time. So I get it to wait.
As for searching, I love to look around to learn, as I said I'm very new at this scripting lark Smilie I posted here to see others approach. I will continue to look and learn what i can as my approach can be very converluted. Any input positive or negative is help because I can hopefully learn from it.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Does not run via cron job

I have a perl script, when I ran manually it works perfect. I check the permissions which are fine. How can I find out why it is not running? how can I setup a log to check. I am running it on solaris 9. It compares multiple files, SCP and then send out an e-mail. As I said when I ran it... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: amir07
2 Replies

2. Programming

how to know the application run on which core, and run how many times on this core

I have a dual core pc, I write a application with two child process. I know I can add sched_get_cpu to know the process run on which core, but, it just when the sched_get_cpu is called, it will tell me the result, my quesion is how to know the child proceess spend how many times on one core. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: yanglei_fage
2 Replies