Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Print result of mv -n
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Print result of mv -n Post 302936082 by parijat guh on Sunday 22nd of February 2015 11:05:24 PM
Old 02-23-2015
Hi Don,
Sorry for not being clear.
1.No the source file with same name as in destination for are NOT disappearing.The move command is working perfectly fine..
2.The
Code:
mv -n

has no output but is moving the dissimilar files as expected.
3.i am using Unix os bash shell
4.i think what you are asking here is what exits the mv command when it finds a similar file name ,I am using mv -n.

Pardon me if I donot get all your questions as I am new to Unix and new to this forum.

---------- Post updated at 09:35 AM ---------- Previous update was at 09:34 AM ----------

My objective is to print the file names which are being moved

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

print a function result in new file

Hi, i have a function which return a variable . serach ( paramatere) when i excute this function i get the result in the shell, i want to print this result in a file by calling just the function. how can i do it.. the code example is like that: search ( ) { .. } the call... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: kamel.seg
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

print out result from data file

i got a data file which contains all the pid,ppid,user,command,pcpu,start_time,status. I wanted to display out the pcpu which is greater than 0. i uses awk'{if($5 > 0){print}}' filename.txt but is printing out result which not i wanted. Is there any way which i can print out those pcpu which is... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: thms_sum
8 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Filter the column and print the result based on condition