Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help with if statement syntax in shell script Post 302929255 by RudiC on Friday 19th of December 2014 05:02:38 AM
Old 12-19-2014
You may want to execute your script with the -v and/or -x option set to see what the shell actually does.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script syntax checker

I have a rather big script that i have written in ksh and it is falling over in two places with a 'test argument' error. I know this usually means that the if statement is not correct, but it is fine. I have looked through the rest of the script for any odd brackets or ` marks, but can't see... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: handak9
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Basic Shell script syntax help

Hi All, I am new to shell scripting. I have a variable which holds a numeric value.I have to check whether this variable holds a value between(0- 8),(8-17)(17-24).How do i write this syntax using if in shell scripting. Thanks Vignesh (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: vignesh53
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help Syntax Shell-Script

Hi Guys, iīve a question ... but itīs a litte bit tricky: iīve a 3 php-scripts which runīs via cron at night. These script reads an xml-file a writes it in an MySQL-DB. I named them (for example here ) Script1 - Script3. The XML-Files i named xml1 - xml3. Now, iīve build a Batch-file,... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: jackcracker
10 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Syntax error in script with if statement

I'm working on a function in a shell script I'm writing that will eventually take in and print out a list of vendor names and aliases (for my work) Here's the function in question: addvendorandalias () { echo echo -n 'Would you like to create a new vendor list (y or n)? ' read answer... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Straitsfan
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting