Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers MySQL Database Missing on UNIX server. Possible to recover? Post 302928288 by SurfMe69 on Wednesday 10th of December 2014 01:30:26 PM
Old 12-10-2014
It looks like the directory with the data is somehow gone - perhaps when MySQL got corrupted and compromised, it just deleted the data (although that seems strange to me). In the database directory, there are a few subdirectories for scripts that I no longer use. But the one that was currently in use is missing, and nobody has a backup.

If there is a way to recover a directory or files in a case like this, I'd be happy to hear it. I do have a few inquiries out to people who do recovery, but I suspect that will be too cost prohibitive.

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

unix database server

hello , guys , im new to unix , just passed out my system admin certification from sun. i need to do few things at home , which are 1. ihave a unix box and windows box wired together using hub , i want to use internet from windows box . i have win98 ist edition , as well as win2000 server. kindly... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: definate
7 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

MySQL problem >> missing mysql.sock

MySQL on my server is down.... I figured out that the mysqld process isn't running. When I try to run it, it says it can't find mysql.sock Any suggestions? Here's what I can't do: can't be root don't have physical access (do stuff via SSH) reinstall MySQL (need to keep the current MySQL... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: _hp_
8 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

mysql would not start: missing mysql.sock