Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Reading and Writing a conf file - Suggestions and improvements? Post 302927832 by sea on Friday 5th of December 2014 09:23:17 PM
Old 12-05-2014
Yes, sorry i guess this one belongs to the cathegory of 'unclear description'.

Its exactly what i needed!
And finaly figured why it did fail on some values but not on others while trying to get it working...
i had removed spaces... bad idea... :doh:

But you mix the both... the variable i use as SED-DIVIDER is required, because even with ' strings, it fails if there is the same char within any part of the strings to work with.
But thanks to your saying i had another look and could shorten it a little.

EDIT:
Updated attached file tui-conf-set.sh.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

Reading and Writing file on LAN

Hi gurus I am not a C programmer but I need to read and write files on a computer on LAN using IP address. Suppose on a computer that has an IP 192.168.0.2 Any help or code example. I did in JAVA using URL, but do not know how to do in ANSI-C. In java: ------- URL url = new... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: lucky001
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

reading ,writing,appending ,manipulating a file.

Hi my prob statement is to create a new file or to append to the 1tst file the followign chages. File 1: txt file. portfolio No a b c d abc 1 Any Any Any charString cds 2 values values values charString efd 3 can can can charString fdg 4 come come come charString... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: szchmaltz
4 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Log File Writing and Reading

Hi all, I have the following shell script code which tries to sftp and writes the log into the log file. TestConnection () { echo 'Connection to ' $DESTUSERNAME@$DESTHOSTNAME $SETDEBUG if ]; then rm $SCRIPT ; fi touch $SCRIPT echo "cd" $REMOTEDIR >> $SCRIPT echo "quit" >>... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: valluvan