Sponsored Content
Homework and Emergencies Homework & Coursework Questions Shell script to find file type Post 302925398 by MadeInGermany on Monday 17th of November 2014 04:20:12 AM
Old 11-17-2014
grep works on LF-separated lines, and the LF character is not part of its line buffer.
So you cannot find \n. Further \n and \r do not have a special meaning in grep (it searches for n and r as if they were unquoted).

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help on Simple shell that look for a file type

Hello Everyone, I got a simple question. I'm trying to write a shell that looks for a file that arived ftp area and keeps looking until it find it. It should look for the file that begins with test and then when it finds it. It starts the wmdaten.sh shell. All i got is that it runs... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Peterh
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Specifying font type and color in a shell script

Hi, I am new to shell script. Can you please tell me, whether can we specify font type and color in a shell script? If so, how to do this? Thanks in advance. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Vani_Govind
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

converting the data type in unix shell script

I am writing a unix shell script that will extract records from table and write into a file. ====================================== #! /bin/ksh ############################ # AFI Monitor Script ############################ . /db2/uszlad48/sqllib/db2profile export... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: kmanivan82
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to type ISO_8859_1 characters in shell script?

Hello All, I want to type some special characters to check in my shell script as string. Could you please help me how do I type in my shell script. For example "LA CORUĆA". Here the last but 1 character is related to ISO_8859_1 related. But don't know how do I type in shell script programming.... (3 Replies)