Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting sed command to replace string that contain blackslash,double quotes Post 302924537 by thanush9sep on Monday 10th of November 2014 12:10:28 PM
Old 11-10-2014
sed command to replace string that contain blackslash,double quotes

Hi All,

I have been trying to replace a string using the sed command

string value contain blackslash and double quotes. I am not a expert writer of unix script but do try not to ask question. I have almost given up. Hope you all can give me some suggestion

I want to replace a place string in a file that contains "TEMP"\1\"/work/tmp" (values are with double quotes) with another value "TEMP"\1\"/work/${projectname}/tmp" (projectname is passed through a list from a file)

example this sting "TEMP"\1\"/work/tmp" needs to be replace like this "TEMP"\1\"/work/AST/tmp" (where is AST is the project name)

command used:-
Code:
projectname="AST"
search_string="\"TEMP\""\\1\\"\"/work/tmp\""
replace_string="\"TEMP\""\\1\\"\"/work/${projectname}/tmp\""

sed -e "s|${search_string}|${replace_string}|g" ${ARCH_DIR}/${PROJECT}.DSParams > ${PROJECT_DIR}/${PROJECT}/DSParams

I have tried with different options like using single quotes, parsing but could not find a solution

however the same command is working fine for below

Code:
search_string1="/apps/ETL/IS/8.5/Server/PXEngine/grid_enabled.4.3.8/grid_config.apt"
replace_string1=""

Last edited by Don Cragun; 11-10-2014 at 02:05 PM.. Reason: Add CODE and ICODE tags.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace multiple blanks within double quotes

I have various column names within double quotes, separated by commas. Example: "column one", "column number two", "this is column number three", anothercolumn, yetanothercolumn I need to eliminate the double quotes and replace the blanks within the double quotes by underscores, giving: ... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: jgrogan
5 Replies