Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Help writing SQL query
Top Forums Programming Help writing SQL query Post 302924245 by bbbngowc on Friday 7th of November 2014 07:19:53 AM
Old 11-07-2014
Help writing SQL query

Hello All,

I hope I'm posting this in the right section.

I have zero sql query writing skill, in fact, I've never done it before, but for some reason, a request came across my desk to get information from one of our databases. I have about 200 ticket numbers that have no information attached, so instead of going through the GUI to input each number, I'm hoping to create a query to run against the (Oracle) DB and extract the information.

For instance, I have a ticket number 123456, I need to lookup the ticket number and pull user information (dept, email, phone, ect).

Help me get started with this please.

---------- Post updated at 07:19 AM ---------- Previous update was at 07:14 AM ----------

Perhaps something like this would work.

Code:
SELECT EmployeeID, FirstName, LastName, Email FROM Employees
WHERE Ticket = 'ticketnumber'

The only question I have from this is, how to get the query to cycle through a list of ticket numbers?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

conditional writing of sql code

Hello again... I have a request from another department to list for them all the columns and tables we use in this certain database. I have spooled the oracle stored procedured into 1 file. I need a way to write out parts of that file. The criteria is to to start the block to be written when... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: kburrows
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

& in SQL query

I have a script that looks for all jobs that contain a particular calendar. Some of the calendars have '&' in them and sql freaks out when it encounters that.. is there a way around this? I have tried: select job_name from job where run_calendar='1&15dom' select job_name from job... (3 Replies)