Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Average of multiple time-stamped data every half hour Post 302920815 by terrychen on Monday 13th of October 2014 06:15:22 AM
Old 10-13-2014
Hi Don,

Thanks a lot for your reply.

Regarding your question, if this is a homework assignment, it's not. I collect a stream of data and use excel to take an average since I am not a programmer or someone with Unix background. Maybe it's about time I can learn some perl etc. and make my life a little easier than having to use excel to take an average.

Like you said, I was wrong in saying the last item on the value for time is millisecond. It actually goes from 0 till 9 for the next value and then the value for second increases by one.

Also, I am trying to calculate average of A values and average of B values for the duration of 30 minutes.

Regards,
Terry

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

problem deleting date-time stamped file in a directory

I have a number of files of the format filename.xfr_mmddyy_%H%M%S which i get in a specified directory daily. Now i want to search in the specified directory & delete the files which are more than 2 days old .So I use a command find $DIR/backup/* -ctime +2 -exec rm -f {} \; But after executing... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: dharmesht
1 Replies

2. HP-UX

calculate average of multiple line data

I have a question as below and i need to write a shell or perl script for this query:My Input file looks like below RNo Marks 12 50 15 70 18 80 12 40 13 55 18 88 13 75... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: smacherla
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help in extracting multiple files and taking average at same time