Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Using sed to replace a range of number Post 302920336 by jimmyf on Thursday 9th of October 2014 12:56:10 AM
Old 10-09-2014
Using sed to replace a range of number

Trying to use SED to replace numbers that fall into a range but can't seem to get the logic to work and am wondering if SED will do this. I have a file with the following numbers
Code:

. For the numbers that are greater than zero and less than 25, SED would add the word range after the number. Output would look something like this:
Code:
 3 range 
20 range
5 range

. Have tried variations of this:
Code:
sed 's/[0-25]/range/g' file

. Can't get this logic to work. Any help would be appreciated.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sed command to find, manipulate and replace a number

Hi, Im very new to the world of sed so I'm really not even sure if this is possible. What i need to do is read from a flat file and every time i see this line: VAL=123,456 I need to change 456 to 457 for every occurence of this line in the file. The numbers 123 and 456 are different for... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: LT_2008
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to replace a range of text with sed or awk?

Howdy! I'm trying to automate editing of a configuration file (custom.conf for GDM). I need to find every line between a line that starts with "" and the next line that starts with "", I want to preserve that line, but then delete all the lines in that configuration section and then insert... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: TXTad
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Sed to replace second number in a random string

I need a sed line that will take STDM111 and change it to STDM161 the STDM will always be constant but the 3 numbers after will be random, I just need it to always replace the middle number with 6 regardless of what the numbers are. (8 Replies)