Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Renumbering files bash script Post 302920332 by tollyboy_uk on Wednesday 8th of October 2014 08:51:33 PM
Old 10-08-2014
Renumbering files bash script

I am new to the world of Linux scripting, and would like to make the following 2 scripts:

I have 67 files named Alk-0001.txt to Alk-0067.txt
I would like them to be numbered Alk-002.txt to Alk-0134.txt
eg
Code:
Alk-0001.txt > Alk-0002.txt
Alk-0002.txt > Alk-0004.txt
Alk-0003.txt > Alk-0006.txt

Basically just the original file number doubled.

I also have files that I would like renumbered such that the original file number is doubled then minus 1

eg
Code:
Alk-0001.txt > Alk-0001.txt
Alk-0002.txt > Alk-0003.txt
Alk-0003.txt > Alk-0005.txt

I imagine these scripts should be easy but I can't work it out at present, can anyone help?

Many thanks in advance,

Last edited by Franklin52; 10-10-2014 at 07:26 AM.. Reason: Please use code tags

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

renumbering user id

Other than deleting and recreating a user can a users id number be changed? I need to have my user id the same on more than one system. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: thumper
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Renumbering files scripting help!

I am new to the world of UNIX scripting - and would like to make the following script: I have 100 files numbered 1-100. However - i would like to continue the file list - so that I add another 100 files following on, so that file 101 = 99; file 102 = 98 ; 103 = 97 and so on.... (basically ...... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: AJC1985
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bash script - integrate two files

I wrote script in bash which generates this report "users.csv": I wrote script in bash which generates this report "groups.csv" I want to integate two reports: "users.csv" and "groups.csv". I want like so that "result.csv": Thx (5 Replies)