Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Need help figuring out how to create sharable functions in Perl Post 302919709 by gandolf989 on Friday 3rd of October 2014 09:23:47 AM
Old 10-03-2014
Need help figuring out how to create sharable functions in Perl

I am somewhat new to Perl. I have Googled Perl one liners and worked with the MIME::Lite library to send emails with attachments. But I have not done any real Perl scripting. I need to write a script to install code for our application using an Oracle database with DBI, and to track in the application history table, what was installed and when it was installed. The scripts would then look to see what is already installed every time a patch is run and only install a module once.

Rather than just writing code and repeating a lot of code, I would rather start by building a library of common code that needs to get run and then using the right code when I need it.
I wrote some test code to work with a script that I found on the internet. I am looking for advice on how to make the code modular with reusing as little code as possible. Someone there should be a best practices when it comes to designing how the code should get stored and how to make it modular.

Also what is the difference between require "packageName" and use "packageName" and which one I should use.

Thanks.

Code:
#!/usr/bin/perl

# Put on your nerd glasses and draw a square!

use strict;
use warnings;

package myPackage;

sub printSquare {

my $balancex = 10; # width

my $repeatx = $balancex; #don't change repeatx!!! use balancex instead.
   my $repeaty = 10; # height

do{
      while($repeatx > 0){
         print ". "; # change the period to print another character, but keep the extra space.
         $repeatx -= 1;
      }

print "\n";
      $repeatx += $balancex;
      $repeaty -= 1;
   }  until ($repeaty == 0); #corrected by Athanasius & AppleFritter

}

1;

Code:
#!/usr/bin/perl

use strict;
use warnings;

require myPackage;