Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Passing a variable value to an option Post 302919132 by iggy98 on Sunday 28th of September 2014 12:54:36 PM
Old 09-28-2014
Passing a variable value to an option

Hello,

I am new to shell (i.e. linux bash) programming and have the following question:

When using this wget command I can download a certain website that needs login information by passing a previously acquired cookie:

Code:
wget --header='Cookie: SID=ac658ef0876b24ff456' somewebsite.com

As cookies sometimes get very long, I want to shorten the command by storing the cookie in a variable and passing the value of that variable as an option to wget like this:

Code:
cookie='Cookie: SID=ac658ef0876b24ff456'

wget --header=$cookie somewebsite.com

But this doesn't seem to work at all. The cookie is not being passed to the website as in the first case. Who knows what I am doing wrong?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Env Variable substituion in Sed (-s option)

Folks, I've been trying to use the ENV variable with slashes(/) in its value inside the sed substitution.. Sed 's/myval/'$MYVAL'/' file1 >> file.tmp If MYVAL=<sometext>, it works. if MYVAL=/home/venkat, it doesnt. *************************** bash-2.05$ export VAL=/home/venkat... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: gvsreddy_539
5 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

passing a variable inside a variable to a function

I would like to know how to pass a variable inside a variable to a function. sample code below -------------- for x in 1 9 do check_null $C$x ##call function to check if the value is null if then echo "line number:$var_cnt,... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: KingVikram
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

passing a variable inside another variable.