Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Rm -rf file.txt~ included in the first step? Post 302914251 by 1in10 on Saturday 23rd of August 2014 06:59:38 PM
Old 08-23-2014
Rm -rf file.txt~ included in the first step?

I need to shred and delete a file after a certain time. Therefore I use
Code:
shred -z /path/to/file.txt | rm -rf /path/to/file.txt

It works well, but typing
in that very directory
Code:
ls -shi

I still see the so called backup-copy lets say file.txt~
When running bleachbit it will disappear thoroughly. So how can I include in my two commands to erase even the backup-copy?
It is a non-interactive script, using debian wheezy. Any hints? Thanks in advance, still using twice that chain of the commands, but there should be a better solution, maybe.

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

install of sco unix step by step

HI I am new to unix and need to install sco unix on a new server - could anybody help me with the steps I need to take - the hd is a 9gb scsi drive (pretty old machine) Thanks (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: porikamu
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Step by step Installation of Unix SCO 2.1

I am new to unix and server at my job crashed due to hardware problem. I'm now opted to install sco unix on a new server - could anybody help me with the steps I need to take (pretty old machine) Thanks & Regards Nancy :( (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: nensee7
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

works step by step on command line but not in script

Hi all, The following script is fine when I work via command line m=1 c=0 while do echo $m gnokii --getsms IN $m > out.txt; m=`expr $m + 1`; cat out.txt >> message_log; ############ read first crap< <(sed -n '/Text:/{n;p;}' out.txt); read message< <(sed -n '/Text:/{n;p;}'... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: whamchaxed
2 Replies

4. Solaris

Step by step to replace Failed disk