Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Command line not recognizing metacharacters in awk Post 302913113 by jvoot on Wednesday 13th of August 2014 08:02:16 PM
Old 08-13-2014
Thanks so much for this pilnet101. Actually, I'm trying to get the space *after* the digit which follows the comma, that is to say, a space before the tab that delimits the field.

Ultimately, I'd like each record of the textfile to look like this:

Code:
1 Ps 1,1[space][tab] VWB/(J ...

I'm trying to add that [space] above to accommodate a future double digit, i.e.,

Code:
Ps 1,10[Tab]Field $2

So, I'm trying to add a single space when there is only one digit after the comma (,1 ) and not have that space when there are two digits after the comma (,11).

Thanks so much and I apologize for my inability to explain this sufficiently. I am very new to this.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

assign a command line argument and a unix command to awk variables

Hi , I have a piece of code ...wherein I need to assign the following ... 1) A command line argument to a variable e.g origCount=ARGV 2) A unix command to a variable e.g result=`wc -l testFile.txt` in my awk shell script When I do this : print "origCount" origCount --> I get the... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: sweta_doshi
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk pattern matching problem -not recognizing a column

Hi all, I am new to awk. I want to print the line numbers if the column has a particular value. For example I have: cat FILE1 COL1 COL2 X114 0 X116 0 X117 0 X120 0 X121 0 X125 0 X126 0 X127 0 X131 1 X132 0 X135 0 X136 0 (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: newpro
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

The ll command + metacharacters