Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Get the return value and get the output to $results Post 302912169 by Corona688 on Wednesday 6th of August 2014 11:09:42 AM
Old 08-06-2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by yanglei_fage
I want to get the eval $* 's return value
Your explanation is circular.

"What do you hope to achieve with eval $*?" "I hope to execute eval $*"

WHY do you want to execute eval $*? What chain of logic led you here? What problem led you here?

This is extremely ill-advised in nearly all circumstances. If you ever find yourself doing things like eval $* you can be fairly sure your programming took a wrong turn somewhere.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to output the results of the AT command - properly!

Hi, I am new to UNIX and I am more used to simple commands like those in VMS. One of them is the ability to get the output from a job using the /out=<file> command in VMS. I want to submit a job (a set of unix commands) using the AT command but to get the output in a file like that used in... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: SpanishPassion
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Calling C program from cron results in no output

I can call a C program from the shell and results are outputted as normal. The C program processes some files and spits out a .csv file. If I scheduled it in cron, there is no output. If their a special way to schedule C programs in cron? thanks & regards (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: hazno
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

cp output /dev/null results in not a directory

Hello, I am working on a script to measure the read performance of a busybox environment. The logical choice is to use a command line like: (time cp * /dev/null) 2> /tmp/howlong.txt Ah, the rub is cp or /dev/null will only accept a single file at a time. The result in the txt file is and... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: stevesmo
1 Replies