Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting First 4 Characters of a column in CSV file Post 302911841 by Chubler_XL on Monday 4th of August 2014 04:05:24 AM
Old 08-04-2014
Yes, your program won't support CSV files with imbedded CR characters, as there is no code in it to do this.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Replacing characters in csv file

Hello all, This is my first post here, so please excuse me if this question is too obvious or has been asked before. I am new to Unix and although I tried to search your forum for the answer to my question, I could not find an answer that would help me. I have a 500MB csv file with numeric values... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: finwhiz
1 Replies

2. Linux

Removing non printing characters from a csv file

Hi, I have an csv file and there are some non printable characters(extended ascii) so I am trying to create a clean copy of the csv file . I am using this command: tr -cd "" < /opt/informatica/PowerCenter8.6.0/server/infa_shared/SrcFiles/ThirdParty/locations.csv > ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: gerkus
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Square like special characters in .csv file

Hi All - I am new to unix and scripting. I was asked to export a sql output into .csv format and email the attachment. I could do this however i see some square like boxes or special char at the end of the headings and data values in .csv file. I could not fix this and will need your help. ... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Sanchalla
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Pick the column value based on another column from .csv file

My scenario is that I need to pick value from third column based on fourth column value, if fourth column value is 1 then first value of third column.Third column (2|3|4|6|1) values are cancatenated. Main imp point, in my .csv file, third column is having price value with comma (1,20,300), it has... (2 Replies)