Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Combining sed actions
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Combining sed actions Post 302910813 by disedorgue on Monday 28th of July 2014 10:35:43 AM
Old 07-28-2014
Hi,
Another sed solution (general):
Code:
$ cat iid.txt
ID1
1       5
6       8
ID2
1       4
5       7
5       7
5       7

ID3
1       4
$ sed  -e ':yy;/^[A-Z]/{s/$/\t/;:xx;$bzz;N;s/\(\n\|\t\)\([0-9]\)/,\2/g;txx;};h;s/.*\n//;x;s/,//;s/\n.*//p;x;tyy;:zz;s/,//' iid.txt
ID1     1,5,6,8
ID2     1,4,5,7,5,7,5,7

ID3     1,4

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with simple scripting actions

Hi, I am a beginner in unix shell scripting. I wanted simple information like 1- How to know what are the number of command line options given for the script file? 2- How to check if a variable value is interger or string? 3- How to use awk to replace value of a variable For example I... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Nads
5 Replies

2. HP-UX

Auditing User's actions

Hi all I hope to find what i'm looking for in this forum as said in the topic i want to track user's actions on the system. i mean also the action of moving or removing files. I have an HP 9000 with HP UX 11i. the users log on the HP from a terminal window under WIndows XP Thx (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Timberland
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

combining sed commands

I would like to change the lines: originalline1 originalline2 to: originalline1new originalline1newline originalline2new originalline2newline To do this, id like to combine the commands: sed 's/^/&new/g' file > newfile1 and sed '/^/ a\\ newline\\ \\ (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Dave724001
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sed: Combining Multiple Lines into one