Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris Encrypting or maksing password in cron Post 302909735 by achenle on Friday 18th of July 2014 05:01:47 PM
Old 07-18-2014
And to top it all off, putting the userid and password on the command line pretty much makes it readable by anyone logged onto the box by using the "ps" utility.

In other words, your application itself violates your security requirements.

As far as keeping root users from accessing the password, you need to look into RBAC.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

encrypting Unix flatfile

Hi, I am new to unix. I have a flat file that needs to be pgp encyrpted in ASCII format and ftped in Ascii format to remote location. Can any one tell me the steps involved in the pgp encryption of the unix file. I will really appreciate if any one can help me with the pgp encryption shell... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rkumar28
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Encrypting a password for shell script

All, I want to encrypt a database system administration password into a file or environment variable. Then, I want to decrypt the password from the file or environment variable so nobody sees the clear text password. For example, I have the database password of developement. I need to... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: bubba112557
1 Replies

3. AIX

Encrypting password

I have a strange question for someone regarding the AIX 5.2 environment. Here is the scenerio: I have a script that is running a menu full of options. 1. I like food 2. I don't like food Enter Option:_ Enter userID:_ Enter Password:_ (The menu is conversational only so go with me on... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: Justman
6 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

encrypting files in ksh