Sponsored Content
The Lounge What is on Your Mind? Should we use CODE Tags for terminal input and output? Post 302909605 by Corona688 on Thursday 17th of July 2014 07:02:19 PM
Old 07-17-2014
Yes, use them for terminal input and output as well.

It's better than setting random colors and fonts, or labelling them with
----------------output starts here-------------------------
...or letting people guess where it begins and ends.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to suppress input keying from displaying on terminal.

I'm a Unix newbie. In a shell-script, is there any way to accept keyboard input (via STDIN) without having it display on the screen? I know keying in a login password sort of does this by replacing what you key with astericks (*) but I believe that's a "C" routine. I'd like to be able to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: liteyear18
2 Replies

2. Programming

output to terminal

How can I write to another user's pseudo tty, but not to its current prompt position (as in open("/dev/pts007", ...) followed by write() ). Instead I would like to write to the top center of the screen using color red, for example. Like curses, but from another console. (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: andreis
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Don't show keyboard input on terminal

I am developing a script that will run with '/bin/ksh' shell. The script is intended to receive a password by keyboard input, but for security reasons I would like to hide what the user is typing. The keyboard input is being caught by 'read' command. exmaple : echo "Please type your new... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: marianor31
1 Replies

4. Solaris

how to redirect my output in a new terminal

Hi all, i type a command along with dtterm what i would like to have is that the output of the command to be shown in the new terminal . Any Idea on how to acheive this? (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: Sayantan
0 Replies