Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Defining variable problem
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Defining variable problem Post 302909136 by Don Cragun on Monday 14th of July 2014 10:09:04 PM
Old 07-14-2014
As has been said many times before on these forums, shell variables are not expanded inside single quotes. Try changing:
Code:
sed -i '7,7 s/$/   $count_C    $count_O    $count_H/g' input

to:
Code:
sed -i "7s/$/   $count_C    $count_O    $count_H/g" input

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

defining a variable as a number or character?

I am writing a script that needs to accept numbers into a variable by prompting and using the code read num case $num in 000) break ;; *) I am fairly new to unix and am loving the versatility of the language but need a little shove in the right... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: noobian
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Defining Variables

I'm trying to define a variable named sin I already have a variable named cos, which has the value "hello" I want sin to have the value of "hellothere", so sin would be something like sin = $cos & "there" but I'm not sure that I know the syntax. Can anyone help? :confused: (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: sailorliones
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sorting/Filed Defining/Output problem

need a little help with a few tid bits. I wrote a script that checks the resoluion of image files and writes them out to a file then sorts the resolutions by largets Width. Then take the sorted files information and toss all the 835 widths into a seperate file. Ignore the redundancies its a... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: TiredOrangeCat
1 Replies

4. Solaris

Problem defining remote printers on solaris 10