Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Read loop from two files using descriptors Post 302907637 by RudiC on Monday 30th of June 2014 04:12:26 PM
Old 06-30-2014
You can grep -fgrplist on stdin from a pipe.

Nested loops look like e.g.
Code:
while read atd
   do while read grp
         do  your_commands
         done < GRPLIST
   done < ATDINFILE

The outer loop reads the jobs one by one, and the inner does the comparisons for the entire grp file for every single job.
These 2 Users Gave Thanks to RudiC For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

help with a 'while read' loop to change the names of files

Hi, I am new to scripting, so any help on this would be much appreciated. I am trying to rename a bunch of files, taking the names sequentially from a list read in another file... # ls oldnames file_1 file_2 file_3 # cat names red yellow green I want the files to take on the... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: starsky
6 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how to list the files using File Descriptors

hello, I have written a script named listall.sh with the following codes init. #!/bin/bash PATH="/proj/cmon/$1" echo $PATH if ; then echo "Usage: $0 ***" exit 1 else ls -l $PATH/*.sc fi Here there are 3 subdirectories (namely - src, data and jobs)under /proj/cmon, so... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: shyjuezy
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Write/read to file descriptors

Is it possible to write to file descriptor 0 and read from 1 or 2? How could this be implemented? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: machshev
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how to access files via their descriptors?