Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users Recruiting for an open source project Post 302905867 by steadyonabix on Sunday 15th of June 2014 03:56:07 PM
Old 06-15-2014
Good advice, thanks.

I might be getting ahead of myself here as I'm not able to release the current version I have working at my employers site. The code contains too many references to proprietary server and project names.

It was only ever intended as a Proof of concept, but of course it then became so useful we couldn't do without it.

I should explain that I work as a senior test analyst with a heavy emphasis on automation across a cluster of server types that host an online Security as a Service suite of applications. This is my 41st year in engineering and I have been developing the new automation harness with a view to replacing continuous integration as a code promotion model with something inherently agile.

My idea is that no developer or tester ever works on a cluster that is more than 24 hours behind production.

To do that I have designed an agile code promotion model and am developing an automation harness that will not only test a release but become a part of the deliverable itself. Having tested that the upgrade and rollback work, it will then deliver the code to the production environment and deploy it.