Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users Shell script to convert words to Title case Post 302905517 by martinsmith on Thursday 12th of June 2014 03:44:23 AM
Old 06-12-2014
Thanks very much Scrutinizer! Appreciate that you explained the tags as well. I'm a total newbie to this stuff Smilie Cheers

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

lower case to upper case string conversion in shell script

How can convert a Lower case variable value to an upper case in the kron shell script. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: dchalavadi
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Shell script to convert to Title case

I need a shell script which will convert the given string to Title case. E.g "hi man" to "Hi man" (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: SankarV
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

script to convert words into links

hi, i need some help. i have to write a unix shell script that opens a file with a list of words and prints another file with a list of links. something like this: Input: FILE 1: Red Green Blue Output: FILE2: http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=Red... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: kazordoon
9 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to convert value in a variable from upper case to lower case

Hi, I have a variable $Ctrcd which contains country names in upper case and i want to convert them into lower case. I have tried so many solutions from already existing threads but couldn't get the correct one. Can anybody help me with this..... Thanks a lot.. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: manmeet
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell/Perl script to convert to Capitalize case

I need a shell script which will convert the given string within a <title> tag to Capitalize case. E.g "<title>hi man: check this out</title>" to "<title>Hi Man: Check This Out</title>" (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: parshant_bvcoe
11 Replies