Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Lifecycle patching
Operating Systems Solaris Lifecycle patching Post 302904668 by mse on Thursday 5th of June 2014 02:10:43 PM
Old 06-05-2014
Lifecycle patching

I am trying to understand how people manage lifecycle patching these days. I am not a sysadmin (I am a DB Architect) and what I am being told is that if there is any lag between patching a dev server and a prod server that we will liley get new patches in prod that have not had any soak time in dev. Back when I did do sysadmin work, we downloaded the set of patches being applied in dev and then applied them to prod from our patch repository. IS this not done anymore?

I appreciate any help that can be offered to bring me up to speed on how patching is managed these days.

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

Patching

Hi all, I'm new to Solaris. How can i make sure that all my servers are patched to the same level. When i do a uname -a, i see different level. How can i make sure that they are having the same patches. Any expert to guide me through pls? eg. ServerA#uname -a SunOS ServerA 5.10... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: ahlude
0 Replies

2. Virtualization and Cloud Computing

Adaptive Information Technology for Service Lifecycle Management

HPL-2008-80 Adaptive Information Technology for Service Lifecycle Management - Rolia, Jerry; Belrose, Guillaume; Brand, Klaus; Edwards, Nigel; Gmach, Daniel; Graupner, Sven; Kirschnick, Johannes; Stephenson, Bryan; Vickers, Paul; Wilcock, Lawrence Keyword(s): Software as a Service, Enterprise... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: Linux Bot
0 Replies

3. Solaris

Patching

Hi all Ive got 12 odd sun servers, running solars 8, 9 and soon 10. Have to admit I havent patched for years. Infact the last time I did patch a load of servers, sun provided you will a small script which would review the current patch levels, create a xml file that you would use on sunsolve... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sbk1972