Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Looping structure to make up for lack of bash GOTO Post 302904303 by Corona688 on Tuesday 3rd of June 2014 11:42:11 AM
Old 06-03-2014
I too felt the absence of 'goto' at first but mostly because I didn't realize at the time the possibilities its loop structures give you.

Try the break statement, which immediately stops the innermost loop.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need script to make big directory structure

Hi, I'm a novice and I'd like to make a directory structure with a hundred or so folders. I've tried mkdir /foo/foo1/etc... mkdir /foo/foo2/etc mkdir /foo/foo3/etc mkdir /foo/foo4/etc ...but it appends '@' to each folder name and then fails on the subdirectories. Is it better to use a... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kamur
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

looping in hexadecimal with bash

hello every one this is my first post ... well i'm new to linux .... i've been enjoying shell scripting tutorials and i'm new to writting scripts i want to write a script that creates a directory tree named in hexadecimal but i'm stuck at the hexadecimal part ... here is my code (incase i... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: soba
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

looping in hexadecimal with bash

i want to write a script that creates a directory tree named in hexadecimal but i'm stuck at the hexadecimal part ... here is my code (incase i was dealing with intergers ...using bash) max=39 for((i=1;i<=max;i++)) do mkdir $i cd $i done i have tried using "typeset i16 i" but... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: soba
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to make your bash script run on a machine with csh and bash