Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help in Understanding awk if ( F ) syntax - Post 302901436 by rveri on Tuesday 13th of May 2014 06:38:18 PM
Old 05-13-2014
Help in Understanding awk if ( F ) syntax -

Hi Experts,

I was looking at the below link, for finding words next to it, And unable to understand this syntax:
Can any one please explain , what is meaning of this code:

Code:
if ( F )
s = s ? s OFS $i : $i

HTML Code:
https://www.unix.com/unix-for-dummies-questions-and-answers/226523-match-pattern-after-certain-pattern-print-words-next-pattern.html
Thanks..

Last edited by vgersh99; 05-13-2014 at 07:45 PM.. Reason: fixed code tags for better understanding

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help on understanding the Shell and AWK scripts

Hello Friends, I am new to the scripting & have to analyze bunch of regular production scripts. It has .ksh which calls on the .awk script having many functions I need to understand and debug the scripts ASAP Can anybody please let me know as how can I debug, I want to see the flow of code... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: amberj123
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help understanding syntax error Issue

Hi i as you may already know i am creating a menu driven program. I have chosen to take the approach of implementing each interface individually, after adding another interface and attempting to run the program i am faced with the following error: ./Assigntest: line 32: syntax error near... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: warlock129
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Understanding Awk and Cat

Hi Guys, I was recently come across some code to hopefully learn a little bit about putting Shell commands into PHP application to run on a Linux server. However, I don't understand the command AT ALL... and was wondering if anyone can interpret it: cat userIDs.dat | awk '{s=s+1; if... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jordRiot