Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: I 'd like to start fresh.
Operating Systems Solaris I 'd like to start fresh. Post 302899602 by newborndba on Wednesday 30th of April 2014 10:57:56 AM
Old 04-30-2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by vbe
Well what makes you think it will be different this time?
The most important is at installation, not accept the defaults and give correct paths straightaway, look and read carefully oracle installation script before you start
I think you are right, I don't know how different will it be next time since I am no expert.

1) I don't have to deinstall/delete anything if I can get a little push. What's confusing is there are multiple entries of Oracle DB in etc/oratab file. We don't have any DB running on this machine so how do I delete those entries.

2) I have multiple entries of dba group in etc/group file which I am confused about. I don't know which 1 to keep and which 1 to delete?

3) root env and oracle env is different. How would I change it for oracle user since I can't start sqlplus, it gives me an error: SQLPLUS not found.

I have more problems but this is for now. I don't mind fixing this first?

We had an Oracle DBA who left , so this might be an opportunity for me to learn Oracle. Any help will be highly appreciated.

---------- Post updated at 09:57 AM ---------- Previous update was at 09:26 AM ----------

I changed the .profile and as of now sqlplus is working.
Oracle env and root env ar ethe same now.

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Fresh Solaris installation

Dear experts I am going to do a fresh installation of Solaris 8 on my spark workstation. Which partitions or subdirectories I have to make during installation. Which size you recommend. My installation disk is 8 GB. Cheers Reza (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Reza Nazarian
2 Replies

2. Solaris

fresh admin