Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Copy files from one drive to another, keeping most recently modified files Post 302898421 by apocolapse on Tuesday 22nd of April 2014 05:47:02 AM
Old 04-22-2014
Question Copy files from one drive to another, keeping most recently modified files

Hi all, I am a bit of a beginner with shell scripting..

What I want to do is merge two drives, for example moving all data from X to Y.

If a file in X doesn't exist in Y, it will be moved there.
If a file in X also exists in Y, the most recently modified file will be moved to (or kept) in Y.

I have done some reading on the forums and it seems rsync could be helpful, but the most important factor in this exercise is to only keep the most recently modified file, which I am not sure rsync does...

Do any of you have any recommendations? Thanks for the help!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

copy files from local drive to telnet unix machine.

i want to run some solaris executable program (text file). i telnet to solaris machine. the text file is on the net drive h: or my local drive on windows system. how can i copy the text file from local drive in windows to remote machine in solaris system? thanks. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: gary
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How do copy certain files and directories from one hard drive to another?

I have two drives (scsi) mounted on one server and I need to copy certain files and directories from one drive to the other. Any suggestions :confused: (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: shorty
4 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

chmod command for recently modified files