Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris Virtual disks are not showing up in LDom Post 302897073 by unblockable on Thursday 10th of April 2014 07:22:20 PM
Old 04-10-2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peasant
I see you are using slice0 of the disk.

You will need to specify the option for it :
Code:
ldm add-vdsdev options=slice /dev/dsk/c0t5000CCA015354CB4d0s0 vol5@primary-vds0

Or use the entire disk without the slice option :
Code:
ldm add-vdsdev /dev/dsk/c0t5000CCA015354CB4d0s2 vol5@primary-vds0

Hm I'm curious, is the options=slice required? Because I was able to add the first disk (or first slice rather?) successfully without it.

Quote:
I would also advice to create vds for every ldom, not use primary for everything.
Ah yes, this is probably good advice. I am a novice administrator, and I was just learning as I read the instructions. Moving forward I shall try to keep this in mind.

Quote:
The third disk with 'weird' partition table is actualy entire disk added (s2) and during the creation of the zpool inside of ldom no slice as used (c2d0 for instance).

This enables you to import the zpool on both architectures (x86 or sparc).
Ah, interesting. I wasn't aware of this, and I just used the format -e option to write an SMI label to disk to it matched the formatting of my other disks. I am not sure the purpose of this, I was simply trying to match the layout of my other disks...

After I labeled "c0t5000CCA0153596A4d0" with an SMI label, I was able to add slice 0 "c0t5000CCA0153596A4d0s0" as a virtual disk to my VM, and it showed up as a third disk. I am still unsure why my "c0t5000CCA0153542A4d0s0" did not show up properly as a virtual disk inside my VM, I will investigate later. But as for now it looks like my task is complete.

Thank you.

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Linux

LVM (volume manager) and virtual disks