Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Python - glob () - How to grep same files with different extension files Post 302896753 by kumar85shiv on Wednesday 9th of April 2014 06:08:38 AM
Old 04-09-2014
But the problem is

i assigned value from the command like below

text = socket.gethostname()

then i want to grep.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to get files with a specific extension

Hi All, How do I get only the files with the .csv extension. I have a shell script something like below: #!/usr/bin/ #Directory to scan for files SCANDIR="/cmb/data/exstream/scriptslogs/"; LOGFILE="/cmb/data/exstream/scriptslogs/test.log"; cd $SCANDIR for FILE in * ; do FILENAME=$FILE... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: janavenki
9 Replies

2. HP-UX

Files without extension

I am brand new to hp unix systems. I see some files without extension on this system. If I type name of the file it shows me so many detail but does not take me back to command prompt. What are these files and how do I come back to command prompt? Please help (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rajahindustani
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

gzip files with extension

Hi, I have 1000 of files in a folder with the file extension as .csv In this some of the files are already zipped and its looks like filename.csv.gz Now i need to zip all the files in the folder to free some disk space. When i give gzip *.csv It prompts me to overwrite filename.csv.gz... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: nokiak810
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to list files with no extension together with *.prog files?

Hi, I know that to list files with no extension, we can use.. ls -1 | grep -v "\." And to list .prog files, we can use.. ls -1 *.prog or ls -1 | grep '.prog$' (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: adshocker
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

glob not matching all files in perl