Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux How does the Operating System handle memory? Post 302894334 by Lost in Cyberia on Monday 24th of March 2014 11:52:19 PM
Old 03-25-2014
How does the Operating System handle memory?

Hey everyone. Ok, so I know that from inside of any particular program, it see's through virtualized memory, a full range of available memory. It is given the ability then to place variables, data, user input etc, on the Stack, Heap, BSS, or Code segment of it's range. My question is what does the OS then do with this clump of requested memory? Does the OS itself have it's own form of data segementation like the stack and heap? What if the OS wants to run a service or something, where does it store it's variables, and user input?

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unix Operating System

I need the Unix operating system on disc as im new to unix. Im studying unix and x windows next year at Sheffield University and would like to get a head start. Any suggestions would be appreciated (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jeffersno1
2 Replies

2. Programming

How to handle memory error?

Hi, I need to know what is the right way of handling out of memory conditions. If a program is not able to dynamically allocate memory (new fails), is it right to wait for some amount of time (say 5 sec) and then try again to allocate memory? Or should we kill the process and again restart it?... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: diganta
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Operating System

Which is much more powerful as an operating system: 1. Windows 2000 2. Windows 98 3. Windows XP 4. Windows ME 5. Unix 6. Linux and why is it much more powerful than the other operating systems that i have mentioned. thanks for your info... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: alecks1975
1 Replies

4. Homework & Coursework Questions

Operating system LINUX