Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to replace a whitespace with line break? Post 302894051 by fpmurphy on Sunday 23rd of March 2014 11:38:51 AM
Old 03-23-2014
Technically, whitespace is more than just the space character. It includes a blank space, form feed, vertical and horizontal tabs and newline.

Code:
tr '[:space:]' '\n' < file

This User Gave Thanks to fpmurphy For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to insert line break + string in vi (search & replace )

Hello all i have big test file that has allot of structure text something like this : <foo1 *.html> <blah action> somthing 1 somthing 2 </blah> </foo1 > now i will like to insert 2 more lines of text below the <blah action> so it will be like : <foo1... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: umen
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Trim whitespace and add line break

All, I'm a newbie at shell scripting and regular expressions and I just need to take a file that's arranged like the one below, remove all leading and trailing whitespace and add a line break after each word. I've been able to remove a few spaces using various awk, sed and Perl scripts, but... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: moose1
7 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

use sed to replace whitespace with a carriage return

Greetings I need to replace "whitespace" in a file with the newline character aka carriage return My command is either wrong or not interpreted properly by me shell sed s/" "/\\n" "/g nets > nets1 or sed s/" "/\n" "/g nets > nets1 nets (input file) 13MHZ_IN... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: awk_sed_hello
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to match (whitespace digits whitespace) sequence?